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If you are involved in a car accident driving a state car, if you are sued as a state
employee, or if your building is damaged by fire, flooding or wind where you work, ) )
B who are you going to call? RISK MANAGEMENT! ARisky Enterprise

Workers Compensation

From the Director

4 for the State of Utah to be self-insured. It provided the State with a central- Winter Warnings

ized insurer which consistently and uniformly met the needs and concerns of the After School Dangers
agencies it insured. Risk provides liability, property and auto physical damage Signs That Don’t Work
coverage to all state agencies, all school districts, all state-owned colleges and
universities and to most charter schools. It also provides workers’ compensation
for state agencies.

The governmental immunity act
limitation of judgment amounts
changed for incidents occurring
on or after July 1, 2010. The limit
for damages for personal injury
against a governmental entity, or
an employee who a governmental
entity has a duty to indemnify, is
$648,700 for one person in an
occurrence, $2,221,700 aggregate
for two or more persons in an
occurrence, and $259,500 for
property damage for any one
occurrence. These limits of

The mission of Risk Management is to protect State assets, promote safety, and prevent losses
through proactive, collaborative loss control and claims management, in partnership with the partici-
pating entities of the Risk Fund. To accomplish this mission, the Division has three internal sections:
claims, loss control and administration. - More -

Prompt Claims Reporting

There’s an old adage that says “A stitch in time saves nine.” | believe that statement could very
well be the heart and soul of prompt claims reporting. While we appreciate all you do to avoid
claims, they do happen, and when they do, prompt reporting is vital. Time is of the essence.

More judgment are adjusted every two
years as required by UCA 63G-7-
604(1). Associated rule R37-4 may
. be accessed at http://www.rules.
Workers Compensation utah govlpublicaticode/r037/r037-
2011 is the year to improve employee safety and decrease workers compensation injuries. Look for monthly safety tips 004.htm

and helpful recommendations in each issue and on our website.

WINTER WARNINGS

The winter season brings a reminder that fire hydrants on your property need
to have continual free and clear access for use in an emergency situation. This
HR Liability Symposium - January necessitates ensuring that all exterior fire fighting equipment be placed on your

19,2011, 8:30 - 12:00 noon in the facility snow removal schedule. - More -
State Office Building Auditorium.

Presentations by

representatives from EEOC and

UALD
AFTER SCHOOL DANGERS

Statewide ADA Symposium; Events, planned and unplanned can happen at a school, after the last bell of
Access to the Future - March 15, the school day rings or even on weekends. Unplanned activities usually involve
2011 at the Utah Cultural Celebration individuals and groups of individuals using the school grounds and sports
Center. . . equipment without permission. Unfortunately, this can lead to physical damage

Practical methods for compliance to the facilities or even an unsafe situation for school students when school is

with new ADA regulations back in session. - More -

Signs That Don’t Work

" Points of Interest

Summer camps and sports leagues -
New FAQs

Posting a sign near a dangerous
situation which claims no liability just
doesn’'t make it so! DO post signs

Real Life Litigation - Don’t Believe warning of danger. DON'T assume

Everything You See on TV

.
%m?,:‘-‘ that takes care of your responsibility.

k. any Remediate dangerous situations as
— quickly as possible.

Loss trends within the state



http://www.risk.utah.gov/newsletter/documents/prompt_claims_reporting.pdf
http://www.risk.utah.gov/newsletter/documents/march/risk_management.pdf

